Yext for Einzelhandel Case Study

Cox Communications

Durch den Einsatz von Yext Search stieg bei Cox Communications die Conversion-Rate bei der Website-Suche um 51 %, während die wiederholten Suchen auf der Website um 59 % gesunken sind.

Dad-Daughter

 %

Mehr Seitenaufrufe

 %

höhere Konversionsrate mit der Website-Suche

 %

weniger verfeinerte Suchen

The Challenge

Selbst für ein Unternehmen, das es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, Menschen mit digitalen Medien zu versorgen, kann es eine Herausforderung sein, im richtigen Moment und auf die richtige Art und Weise mit Kunden in Kontakt zu treten, wenn diese online Fragen stellen. Als drittgrößter Anbieter von Kabelfernsehen in den Vereinigten Staaten bietet Cox Communications Internetdienste, Fernsehen, Telefon sowie Haussicherheits- und Automatisierungsdienste für sechs Millionen Privat- und Geschäftskunden an. Die Marke muss also im großem Umfang auf Kundenanfragen reagieren. Kommunikationsunternehmen wie Cox haben nicht nur viele Kunden, sondern auch die unterschiedlichsten Arten von Fragen, die es zu beantworten gilt. Einige Kunden möchten einfach, dass ihre Internetverbindung funktioniert und dass sie die neueste Sendung im Fernsehen schauen können. Andere wiederum wollen mehr zu den verschiedenen Diensten und Produkten erfahren, was schon schwieriger sein kann.

„Jede Customer Journey ist anders“, erklärt Craig Geiger, Manager of SEO bei Cox Communications. „Bei uns ist es nicht wie beim Verkauf von Schuhen oder Uhren. Wir haben einen Service, der mit Produkten verbunden ist. Einige dieser Dienste, wie das Fernsehen, können ziemlich kompliziert sein. Es gibt den Standarddienst, aber auch zusätzliche Geräte wie Set-Top-Boxen. Dann kann man noch zusätzliche Dienste wie Sportpakete oder Premiumkanäle hinzufügen. Ähnlich verhält es sich bei Internetdiensten. Man wählt eine Grundgeschwindigkeit, muss dann aber auch einige Entscheidungen in Bezug auf Modems und Router, ein Gaming-spezifisches Netzwerkprodukt und dergleichen treffen. So einfach ist es also nicht.“

„Einige Website-Besucher wissen genau, was sie suchen, und sind bereit, den Artikel oder Dienst sofort in den Warenkorb zu legen“, fährt er fort. „Andere wiederum brauchen viele Informationen und Rat, bevor sie sich für uns entscheiden und eine Bestellung aufgeben.“

Damit die Kunden von Cox Communications finden, was sie suchen, rüstete das Unternehmen seine Website mit einer intelligenten, leistungsstarken Suchplattform nach.

Cox Communications nutzt Yext, um wichtige Markeninformationen im gesamten Publisher-Netzwerk – etwa 175 digitale Dienste weltweit, darunter Google, Amazon Alexa, Apple, Bing, Facebook, Yahoo und Yelp – zu aktualisieren und zu pflegen. Das Ziel dabei ist es, die Benutzerfreundlichkeit auf der eigenen Website durch ein erweitertes Sucherlebnis zu steigern.

Die Marke setzte Yext Listings bereits seit einigen Jahren ein, um wichtige Angaben wie Adressen und Öffnungszeiten in den Suchergebnissen Dritter zu verwalten. Um auch Standortseiten zu erstellen und zu pflegen, wurde die Partnerschaft mit Yext noch vertieft. Vor Kurzem hat Cox die Chance ergriffen, Yext Site Search in seinen Technologiestack aufzunehmen.

„Ich war von Anfang an von Yext Site Search begeistert“, meint Geiger. „Natürliche Sprachverarbeitung, Kontext, Absicht … es würde alles vereinfachen.

Benutzer verwenden immer häufiger natürliche Sprache auf Google. Sie fragen: ‚Wie setze ich mein Modem zurück?‘ und geben nicht mehr so oft herkömmliche Stichworte wie ‚Modem zurücksetzen‘ ein. Es wird also immer wichtiger, dass die Website-Suche auch Kontext und Absicht interpretieren kann. Die Fähigkeit, die eigentliche Frage oder das eigentliche Problem des Benutzers mit den genauesten Antworten zu verknüpfen, hat im Moment höchste Priorität.“

Das Team von Cox Communications stellte fest, dass Yext Site Search einfach und schnell einzurichten war. „Es war sehr einfach, die Elemente in [Yext Content] zu integrieren“, fährt er fort. „Im Hinblick auf die Größe des Projekts im Vergleich zum Aufwand auf unserer Seite war dies eine der einfachsten Implementierungen, die wir bisher durchgeführt haben.“

Being able to match the user's true question or query with the most accurate answers, that's the number one thing right now. And that’s what Yext Answers lets us do.

Craig Geiger

Manager of SEO

The Results

Für Cox besteht der größte Vorteil von Yext Site Search darin, dass direkt auf der Website Rich-Suchergebnisse gefunden werden können. „Google präsentiert immer mehr Rich-Snippets unter den Ergebnissen, und das imitiert diese Erfahrung“, erläutert Geiger. „Das ist großartig, denn Menschen nutzen Google jeden Tag. Das erwarten sie, wenn sie auf unsere Website kommen, und das bekommen sie jetzt auch. Sie müssen nicht erst suchen und herausfinden, wie die Ergebnisse angeordnet sind. Es ist eine vertraute Benutzeroberfläche, was fantastisch ist.“

Dad-Daughter
Verbesserte Suchergebnisse führen zu mehr Kundenkontakt.

Seit dem Start mit Yext Site Search im Februar 2020 verzeichnete Cox Communications eine enorme Steigerung der Kundeninteraktionen. Kunden, die Yext Site Search nutzten, konvertierten mit einer 51 % höheren Rate im Vergleich zur veralteten Suche auf der Website des Unternehmens (Stand Mai 2020).

Im gleichen Zeitraum verzeichnete Cox einen Rückgang von 59 % bei den wiederholten Suchen auf ihrer Website, was darauf hindeutet, dass wesentlich mehr Kunden die Antworten auf ihre Fragen nun gleich beim ersten Versuch finden. Die Marke hat auch FAQ-Seiten erstellt, mit denen etwa jeder vierte Besucher direkt von der Suchergebnisseite aus interagiert.

Neben Yext Answers hat Cox Communications im Februar 2020 auch mehr als 6.500 neue Servicebereich-Seiten eingeführt, verteilt auf die Linien „Privatkunden“ und „Unternehmen“. Die Marke hat auch ihre 132 bestehenden Standortseiten neu gestaltet. Infolgedessen stieg die Gesamtzahl von Seitenaufrufen von Februar 2020 bis Mai 2020 inkrementell um 144 % im Jahresvergleich.

More Content

Finden Sie heraus, wie Ihr Unternehmen suchenden Konsumenten Antworten liefern kann. So wird Ihr Unternehmen leichter gefunden und Ihr Umsatz steigt.

Yext for Telecommunications Case Study

Cox Communications Provides Direct Answers to Customer Questions With Yext

Using Yext Answers, Cox Communications experienced a 51% increase in site search conversion rate and a 59% decrease in repeat on-site searches.

Using Yext Answers, Cox Communications experienced a **51% increase in site search conversion rate** and a **59% decrease in repeat on\-site searches**.

0%

increase in page views

0%

increase in site search conversion rate

0%

decrease in search refinements

Even for a business whose mission it is to keep people connected, it can be a challenge to connect with customers in the right moments, and in the right ways, when they go online seeking answers to their questions. As the third-largest cable provider in the United States, Cox Communications provides internet service, TV, phone, and home security and automation services to six million residential and business customers — which is to say, the brand doesn't just need to respond to the challenge of customer questions, it needs to do it on a huge scale.
On top of the sheer number of customers, communications companies like Cox have an expansive range of customer questions to field. Connecting to the internet or catching the latest buzzed-about cable show may be simple enough end goals, but understanding the various services and products available can be tricky for people to navigate.

"Every customer journey is distinct," explains Craig Geiger, Manager of SEO at Cox Communications. "This isn't like selling shoes or watches. We have a service coupled with products. Some of those services, such as TV, can be fairly complicated in terms of the baseline service, additional equipment like set-top boxes, and then on top of that you can add additional services such as sports packages or premium channels. And it's similar for internet service — you select a base speed, but then you also have a few decisions to make in terms of modems and routers, a gaming specific network product, and things like that. So it's not a straightforward transaction."

Some people know exactly what they're looking for and are ready to transact," he continues. "While others need a lot of education before making the decision to convert and place an order."

To help customers find what they’re looking for, Cox Communications retrofitted its website with a smart, powerful search platform.

Cox Communications uses Yext to update and maintain important brand information across the entire Knowledge Network — approximately 175 digital services globally, including Google, Amazon Alexa, Apple, Bing, Facebook, Yahoo, and Yelp — and to provide a user-friendly search experience on its own website.

The brand had been using Yext Listings for a few years to manage important information about its retail stores, like addresses and hours of operation, across third-party search experiences, when it expanded its partnership with Yext to create and maintain local pages as well. Most recently, Cox jumped at the chance to add Yext Answers to its technology stack.
"When we first found out about Yext Answers, it looked really appealing," Geiger explains. "Natural language processing, context, intent — we decided it would simplify everything.

Because as people become more comfortable using natural language queries on Google, using full sentences like 'how do I reset my modem?' instead of performing a traditional keyword-based search like 'reset modem,' it becomes increasingly important that site search can also interpret context and intent. Being able to match the user's true question or query with the most accurate answers, that's the number one thing right now."

The team at Cox Communications found Yext Answers was simple and quick to set up. "Getting the elements into the knowledge graph was very simple," he continues. "Overall, this was one of the easiest implementations we've done, in terms of magnitude of the project versus level of effort on our side."

“Being able to match the user's true question or query with the most accurate answers, that's the number one thing right now. And that’s what Yext Answers lets us do.”

Craig Geiger

Manager of SEO

For Cox, the biggest benefit of using Yext Answers is having the ability to provide rich search results right on its website. "Google has started presenting more and more rich snippets on their search results page, and this mimics that experience," Geiger explains. "Which is great, because people use Google every single day. That's what they're expecting when they come to our site, and now that's what they get. They don't have to hunt around and figure out how the results are laid out. It's a familiar interface, which is fantastic."

Customer engagement soars thanks to improved site search results.

Since launching with Yext Answers in February 2020, Cox Communications has experienced a huge increase in customer engagement. As of May 2020, people who used the Yext Answers search experience converted at a 51% higher rate compared to those who used the business's legacy site search tool.

During that same period, Cox saw a 59% decrease in repeat on-site searches, indicating that many more customers are finding answers to their questions on the first try. The brand has also created FAQ pages, which approximately one in four visitors interact with from the search results page.

In addition to Yext Answers, Cox Communications also launched more than 6,500 new service area pages in February 2020 — spread across Cox's Residential and Business service lines. The brand also did a redesign of its 132 existing location pages at the same time. As a result, from February 2020 to May 2020, Cox experienced a 144% year-over-year incremental lift for total views on its pages.

0 0 0 0 0

Products Used

More Customer Stories

Card Image Top
Three Mobile
Three boosts digital performance by providing verified answers with Yext.Read Now
Card Image Top
T-Mobile
T-Mobile Integrates Yext for Easier Search DiscoverabilityRead Now
Card Image Top
SFR
With Yext, SFR Delivers Answers via Search to Drive More Online-To-Offline TrafficRead Now
See how your business can deliver official answers to searching consumers, helping drive discoverability and revenue.
Get Started