Yext for Restauration Case Study

Church's Chicken

Yext a permis à Church's Chicken de réaliser un chiffre d'affaires estimé à 17,6 millions de dollars par an (annualisé), les clics sur les listings et les pages pour obtenir des itinéraires générant 3,7 millions de dollars par an (annualisé), soit la plus grande part des recettes liées aux clics.

Church's Chicken Box with Fried chicken on a blue plate, Texas Tenders, Mashed potatoes, fries, & Honey-Butter Biscuits
Au début, il y avait du poulet

Si le siège de Church's Chicken se trouve aujourd'hui à Atlanta, en Géorgie (États-Unis), l'enseigne a fait ses débuts en 1952, dans un restaurant situé en face du fort Alamo à San Antonio, au Texas. On y servait alors les prémices de son plat emblématique : le poulet frit avec ses jalapeños et ses Honey-Butter Biscuits™, sorte de scones américains badigeonnés de beurre au miel. Comptant désormais plus de 1 500 établissements à travers le globe, Church's propose ses célèbres saveurs du terroir à des clients du monde entier.

Church's Chicken a développé une incroyable présence client culturelle physique, mais leur présence en ligne laissait à désirer

En 70 ans d'activité, il va sans dire que Church's Chicken a pu développer une importante clientèle de fidèles. Les personnes qui aiment Church's Chicken, aiment vraiment Church's Chicken. C'est d'ailleurs la raison pour laquelle l'enseigne a décidé de développer ses activités afin d'atteindre de nouveaux clients, principalement sur les canaux digitaux, là où son impact et son ROI étaient souvent difficiles à mesurer.

« Nous obtenons des notes incroyablement élevées de la part de nos clients sur la qualité et la saveur de nos produits, c'est ce qui fait notre réputation, affirme Alan Magee, vice-président du marketing digital et de la technologie chez Church's Chicken. Nous avons eu la possibilité d'atteindre de nouveaux gourmets. Nous échangeons avec nos clients de la première heure depuis un bon moment, car ce sont des personnes qui viennent manger dans nos restaurants plusieurs fois par semaine. Notre souhait était d'atteindre les personnes qui consomment dans des établissements de restauration rapide. Toutefois, pour une raison que nous ignorons, ces mêmes clients ne s'intéressaient pas à Church's Chicken. C'est cette information qui nous a permis de modifier et adapter notre stratégie d'expansion de notre clientèle. »

Outside a Church's Chicken Location

Pour saisir pleinement cette opportunité, Church's Chicken a attaqué le problème sur tous les fronts. L'entreprise a lancé une nouvelle campagne publicitaire, une stratégie médiatique et, plus important encore, elle a créé une approche digitale de haut niveau. « Nous avions besoin d'atteindre les personnes qui effectuent des recherches sans marque liées à la restauration rapide, et leur faire découvrir Church's Chicken, explique Alan. La question qui se pose ensuite : comment leur fournir les informations dont ils ont besoin lorsqu'ils essaient de décider ce qu'ils vont manger dans les 10 minutes qui suivent ? »

Une solution à plusieurs volets pour aider une marque de points de vente physiques à passer au digital

Church's Chicken utilise Yext pour gérer les informations digitales relatives à sa marque. Yext permet aux entreprises comme Church's Chicken de mettre à jour et de maintenir les informations importantes relatives à leurs marques, sur leurs sites Internet, leurs applications mobiles, leurs systèmes internes et sur tout le Knowledge Network (soit environ 175 services digitaux à travers le monde, dont Google, Amazon Alexa, Apple, Bing, Facebook, Yahoo et Yelp). Church's Chicken a également mis en place un suivi des conversions, afin de mieux comprendre l'impact de ses efforts en ligne sur ses revenus.

« Avant Yext, nous ne savions pas vraiment combien de personnes consultaient nos listings », reconnaît Alan. « Quel est l'impact des médias ? Quel est l'impact de la saisonnalité ? De nos promotions et offres à durée limitée ? Désormais, nous sommes non seulement en mesure de vérifier que nous stimulons l'activité (notamment en ce qui concerne les personnes qui nous trouvent dans les résultats de recherche et qui consultent nos pages), mais nous pouvons également déterminer si nous parvenons à les motiver à agir (conversion). »

Au-delà de mesurer le retour sur investissement, ces données ont été particulièrement instructives pour identifier plus précisément les lacunes en matière d'éducation client, ce qui a permis à Church's Chicken de mieux cibler ses efforts pour s'assurer que les bonnes informations soient transmises aux moments cruciaux de la prise de décision.

Results

« À l'avenir, poursuit M. Magee, nous allons poursuivre nos efforts pour booster ces transactions digitales. Nous sommes encore relativement novices en matière de commandes en ligne. Les clients qui sont fidèles à la marque depuis des années sont habitués à passer par le drive ou à se présenter au comptoir pour commander. Les avantages offerts par une bonne expérience de recherche (c'est-à-dire permettre de passer une commande en un clic, aussi bien sur Google que sur notre site Internet) vont, selon moi, être au cœur de notre croissance, car c'est là que tout le monde passe son temps. C'est désormais de cette manière que les clients interagissent le plus avec la marque. Nous voulons être présents à tous ces points d'accès afin de transformer l'intérêt en transaction. »

Et les chiffres en témoignent : sur ces points d'accès client, Church's enregistre une présence considérablement élevée.

Entre septembre 2019 et avril 2020, Church's Chicken a constaté une augmentation des impressions sur ses listings de 218 % par rapport à la même période en 2018 et début 2019. 43 % des recherches dans les résultats desquelles l'entreprise apparaît ne sont pas des recherches comportant un nom de marque. Outre une augmentation de 20 % des clics sur le bouton Obtenir l'itinéraire, de 21 % des clics sur le site Internet et de 55 % des clics pour passer un appel sur la même période, la marque a enregistré une augmentation de 12,84 % du taux de conversion en ligne pour les solutions Yext, dont un taux de conversion de 1,07 % pour ses pages et de 39,34 % pour ses listings.

Les solutions Yext ont permis à Church's Chicken de réaliser environ 17,6 millions de dollars de chiffre d'affaires (annualisé), les clics sur les listings et les pages pour obtenir des itinéraires contribuant à la plus grande part des recettes générées par les clics des clients (3,7 millions de dollars, annualisés).

More Content

loading icon

Découvrez comment votre entreprise peut fournir des réponses aux clients qui en ont besoin, stimulant ainsi sa visibilité et son chiffre d'affaires.

Yext for Food Case Study

How Church’s Chicken® Took Control of Their Brand Online

With Yext, Church's Chicken drives an estimated $17.6M per year (annualized) and clicks for directions on their listings and pages drives the most estimated revenue of any customer action click: $3.7M per year (annualized).

With Yext, Church's Chicken drives an estimated **$17.6M per year (annualized)** and clicks for directions on their listings and pages drives the most estimated revenue of any customer action click: **$3.7M per year (annualized)**.

0%

increase in listings impression

0%

increase in clicks-to-call

0%

conversion rates

In the beginning, there was chicken

These days, Church's Chicken is headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia, but when it was founded in 1952, it was just one restaurant, situated across the street from the Alamo in San Antonio, Texas, serving what would eventually become its signature fried chicken, jalapenos and Honey-Butter Biscuits™. Today, with more than 1500 global locations, Church's brings its famous down-home flavor to fanatical customers around the world.

Church’s built a tremendous customer bedrock and cultural presence — but they were hitting a ceiling online

In the nearly 70 years since opening its first restaurant, Church's Chicken has cultivated a loyal customer base. People who love Church's seriously love Church's. For that reason, Church's set out to expand beyond their core, to reach new customers, particularly on digital channels, where impact and ROI were perennially hard to measure.

"We get incredibly high scores for our food from our guests — it has great flavor and it travels really well — that's what we're known for," states Alan Magee, Vice President of Digital Marketing and Technology at Church's Chicken. "We had the opportunity to expand that reach to a new audience. We've been talking to our core customer for a long time — that's somebody who comes out to one of our restaurants a couple of days a week. We wanted to reach those people who are buying QSR, but for some reason, Church's was just outside their consideration set. This was a shift in our strategy to expand our customer base."

To achieve this, Church's attacked the opportunity from every front. They launched a new brand advertising campaign, media strategy, and crucially, created an elevated digital approach. "We needed to capture those people who are performing unbranded searches for QSR and fast food, and introduce them to Church's," Magee explained. "The question then becomes, how do we get them the information they need when they're trying to make that decision about what they're going to eat in the next 10 minutes?"

Alan Magee Headshot
In the future, we will be focusing on continuing to drive those digital transactions. We are still relatively new in digital ordering. So the power of a good search experience...I think that’s at the core of how we’re going to grow because that’s where people are spending their time.

Alan Magee

Vice President of Digital Marketing and Technology

A multi-pronged solution to bringing a brick-and-mortar legacy brand to the digital surface

Church's Chicken uses Yext to manage the digital facts about its brand. Yext enables brands like Church's Chicken to update and maintain important brand information across their websites, mobile apps, internal systems, and the entire knowledge network — approximately 175 digital services globally, including Google, Amazon Alexa, Apple, Bing, Facebook, Yahoo, and Yelp. Church's Chicken also set up conversion tracking, to better understand the revenue impact of its online efforts.

"Prior to Yext, we really didn't know how many people were viewing our listings," says Magee. "What's the impact of media? What's the impact of seasonality? Of these limited-time offers and promotions? Now, not only are we able to see that we're driving activity — of people finding us in search and visiting our pages — but then we can see if we're turning them into taking an action (conversion)."

Beyond measuring ROI, these insights have been particularly informative in painting a more complete picture of where gaps in customer education exist, thus empowering Church's to be more targeted in their efforts to make sure the right information is being delivered at crucial decision-making moments.

"In the future," continued Magee, "We will be focusing on continuing to drive those digital transactions. We are still relatively new in digital ordering. Our guest who's been with the brand for years only know to come through the drive-thru or walk up to the front counter and order. So the power of a good search experience — to be able to say, 'Hey, here's your one click Order Ahead,' whether it's ordering through Google, or through our website — I think that's at the core of how we're going to grow because that's where people are spending their time. This is how people are increasingly accessing the brand today. We want to be there at all of those access points to turn interest into a transaction."

Alan Magee Headshot
Prior to Yext, we really didn't know how many people were viewing our listings. Now, not only are we able to see that we’re driving activity — of people finding us in search and visiting our pages — but then we can see if we’re turning them into taking an action (conversions).

Alan Magee

Vice President of Digital Marketing and Technology

And the numbers tell the story: Church’s now has a considerably elevated presence at those consumer access points.

Between September 2019 and April 2020, Church's Chicken experienced a 218% increase in listing impressions, compared to the same period in 2018 and early 2019. 43% of the search queries that it now appears in results for are unbranded. In addition to a 20% increase in clicks for directions, a 21% increase in website clicks, and a 55% increase in clicks-to-call over the same period, the brand sees an online conversion rate of 12.84% for Yext solutions — this includes a 1.07% conversion rate for its pages and 39.34% conversion rate for its listings.

Church's Chicken drives an estimated $17.6M per year (annualized) with Yext solutions. Clicks for directions on their listings and pages drives the most estimated revenue of any customer action click: $3.7M per year (annualized).

0 0 0 0 0

More Customer Stories

MAX Burgers
MAX Burgers
MAX Burgers Drives Easier Search Discoverability With YextRead Now
To-go cup of Denny's Coffee, a white plate containing a stack of pancakes with a dollop of butter, two sausage links, two slices of bacon and scrambled eggs, two to-go containers of syrup.
Denny’s
Denny's Drives Hungry Mobile Diners Through Restaurant Doors With YextRead Now
On the left a hand holds up a scoop of Ben & Jerry's Chocolate Ice Cream and another hand holds up a waffle cone with a scoop of Ben & Jerry's Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream
Ben & Jerry’s
Ben & Jerry’s Holds Annual 'Free Cone Day' With YextRead Now

See how your business can deliver official answers to searching consumers, helping drive discoverability and revenue.

Get Started