Podcast

La guerre de la recherche : Steven Levy

Oct 28, 2021

Featuring

Christian Ward

Responsable des données, Yext

Christian J. Ward est vice-président exécutif et Chief Data Officer chez Yext. Il est chargé d'élargir les applications des knowledge graphs et d'optimiser les données. Son objectif est d'aider les clients Yext à identifier, valoriser et structurer leurs knowledge graphs afin de maximiser la valeur de leurs données.

M. Ward est le co-auteur de « Data Leverage: Unlocking the Surprising Growth Potential of Data Partnerships », un ouvrage très populaire sur Amazon. Il a développé et mis en place des centaines de partenariats en matière de données à travers le monde, que ce soit avec de petites entreprises ou les plus grandes sociétés de gestion des données. M. Ward a notamment été Chief Data Officer chez SourceMedia et chez Infogroup, ainsi que responsable mondial de l’innovation en matière de contenu chez Thomson Reuters. Il a été cité dans des publications telles que le Wall Street Journal, Forbes, Fortune, GeoMarketing, StreetFight et Search Engine Journal et il intervient fréquemment sur des sujets tels que les stratégies, les partenariats et l'influence des données dans le futur.

Steven Levy

Auteur et journaliste technique

Le nouveau livre de Steven Levy, Facebook: The Inside Story, raconte de façon irrévocable l'histoire de l'entreprise qui a connecté le monde et en a récolté les fruits, grâce à un accès sans précédent. Surnommé « le premier journaliste technologique d'Amérique » (Washington Post), M. Levy couvre la révolution numérique depuis plus de 35 ans. Il est actuellement rédacteur en chef du magazine Wired, dont il a été l'un des rédacteurs fondateurs. Au plus fort de l'essor d'Internet, il était chroniqueur et correspondant technologique en chef pour Newsweek. Il a également écrit des articles pour Rolling Stone et Macworld. Ses sept livres précédents comprennent le fameux L'Éthique des Hackers (1984) ; Insanely Great (1994), l'histoire de l'ordinateur Macintosh d'Apple ; Crypto (2001), qui a remporté le prix du livre numérique de Francfort ; et In the Plex (2011), le livre de référence sur Google, best-seller du New York Times et livre d'affaires de l'année d'Amazon. Plus tôt dans sa carrière, M. Levy a interviewé Bob Marley et trouvé le cerveau d'Einstein, mais c'est une toute autre histoire.

podcast

Search Wars: Steven Levy

Oct 28, 2021

In this episode, we’re joined by journalist and tech expert Steven Levy, Editor at Large at Wired and author of top technology books including “In the Plex: How Google Thinks, Works, and Shapes Our Lives” and the iconic “Hackers: Heroes of the Computer Revolution.”

In a wide-ranging conversation, Levy discusses controversial aspects of Google's growth, dives into the intersection of search and ethics, and makes some bold predictions for the future of search.

Featuring

Christian J. Ward

EVP, Chief Data Officer

Christian J. Ward is the Executive Vice President and Chief Data Officer at Yext focused on the expanding applications of knowledge graphs and data asset optimization. His focus is to help Yext clients identify, value, and structure their knowledge graphs to maximize their data value. Ward is the co-author of the Amazon top release Data Leverage: Unlocking the Surprising Growth Potential of Data Partnerships and has developed and executed hundreds of data partnerships around the world, from small entrepreneurial firms to the world’s largest data companies. Ward has served as Chief Data Officer of SourceMedia, Chief Data Officer of Infogroup, and Global Head of Content Innovation at Thomson Reuters, among other roles. He has been quoted in publications like the Wall Street Journal, Forbes, Fortune, GeoMarketing, StreetFight, and Search Engine Journal and he speaks frequently on data strategy, partnerships, and the future influence of data.

Steven Levy

Author and Tech Journalist

Steven Levy’s new book, Facebook: The Inside Story, is the definitive story—written with unprecedented access-- of the company that connected the world and reaped the consequences. Known as “America’s premier technology journalist” (Washington Post), Levy has been covering the digital revolution for over 35 years.  He is currently Editor at Large at Wired magazine, where he was one of its founding writers. During the height of the internet boom, he was the columnist and chief technology correspondent for Newsweek.  He also wrote columns for Rolling Stone and Macworld.  His seven previous books include the groundbreaking Hackers (1984); Insanely Great (1994), the history of Apple’s Macintosh computer; Crypto (2001) which won the Frankfurt Digital book prize; and In the Plex (2011), the definitive book on Google that was a New York Times bestseller and Amazon’s business book of the year.   Earlier in his career, Levy interviewed Bob Marley and found Einstein’s brain, but not for the same story.